Football v Homophobia Awards launch

fch awards logo

The 2023 Football v Homophobia Awards launch today, with new categories added for this year. The Awards, first celebrated in February 2020, acknowledge clubs, organisations, groups and individuals who have been making a difference to LGBTIQ+ inclusion in football.

Campaign Director, Lou Englefield explains:

“Football v Homophobia is the longest running LGBTIQ+ anti-discrimination campaign in football. When you’ve been working across the game for twelve years, you see the positive changes that have been made. We wanted to celebrate achievements and say thank you to those who’ve been working hard to make a difference to LGBTIQ+ people in football”

There are eleven categories at this year’s Awards:

  • Professional Club
  • Non-League Club
  • Grassroots Club
  • Supporters Group
  • English County Football Association
  • Women’s Game
  • Football v Homophobia Hero
  • Football Media
  • FvH Cymru
  • Football v Homophobia Scotland
  • International Award

Nominations in any category can be made here.

Previous winners of the Professional Club award include Spurs, Charlton Athletic and most recently Leicester City. Whilst Non-League winners most recently include Wrexham AFC and Dulwich Hamlet.

For the past two years FvH Award winners have been announced virtually due to covid restrictions and concerns, so the team at Football v Homophobia are hoping for a big in-person celebration this season. The Awards Night will be held at the National Football Museum on 24th February, and all are welcome to go along.

The Awards Evening is open to LGBTIQ+ people and allies throughout the game, and tickets, which go on sale next week, cost £15.